Crank questions...

Basic tech questions such as future setups, different turbo kits, car diagnosis, etc
Radicalrobs240sx
NooB

Crank questions...

Post by Radicalrobs240sx »

Hey guys I'm somewhat new to the 240 scene, I've owned my 91 240 since the winter and I've been planning a KA-T build since the first day I got the car running. I'm concerned about the crankshaft... all you guys pushing 400 plus horsepower what are you running for cranks? It's not an easy task to find a crank for this engine however they are out there, I'm just wondering at what point would I have to seriously consider upgrading my crank to FCW forged horsepower wise. My goal right now is to come close to the 400 horsepower mark, but would it make sense to upgrade my crankshaft or is it safe to Run the stock crank at that power? Some more info would be greatly appreciated and it would be great to hear what you guys are running for cranks in your Kat builds, would help me out a ton.
jaysol92
240sx Wannabe

Re: Crank questions...

Post by jaysol92 »

The stock crank is very strong, it's all about rpm not power. High rpms on our motors can snap the nose off of it. Plenty of guys have made much more than 400 on the stock crank. Just get it balanced and polished if you wanna do an easy modification to it. Running an ati super damper will help you a lot with harmonics as well.
flip240
Belongs To The TOP CONTRIBUTING MEMBERS!

Post by flip240 »