SOHC ARP STUDS

Yup, post them single slammers here....
Post Reply
User avatar
KA24ETZTM
Knows Some Stuff About 240's!
Posts: 446
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 3:48 pm
Location: Kannapolis, NC

SOHC ARP STUDS

Post by KA24ETZTM » Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:02 am

Ok so I searched SOHC ARP in the search bar and this is a question that is brought up at least 3 times a month, lol. So lets clear up all confusion and vote to sticky this so future SOHC guys can get there answer quick. First off there is no ARP part number in the catalog for a single cam ka. Its an assortment of other studs, nuts and washers. Companies basicly measure call arp and get what they need. Usually sites will have the part number listed like (arp pt # custom)
The part numbers are below for the head studs

ARP KA24E headstud "kit" per Grimsta

Stud: 10 x AM5.100-1LB
Nut: 10 x 300-8344 $4.30
Washer: 10 x 200-8519

****The main studs are exactly the same as any kit for the DOHC****

You can get both main studs and head studs from the guys below

Where to buy
atomicspeedware Link
http://www.atomicspeedware.com/ka24esohc.aspx

O&J Performance Link
http://estore.websitepros.com/1636426/C ... +Fasteners

Phase2Motortrend Link *main stud only*
http://www.phase2motortrend.com/arpmastkitka.html


Hopefully this can clear up some confusion :D
Last edited by KA24ETZTM on Thu Apr 29, 2010 9:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Youtube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/ka24etztm/videos
My Original Build Thread
: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=35224
Current Build Status: viewtopic.php?f=40&t=61790
Image

User avatar
Jordan Gladman
Belongs To The TOP CONTRIBUTING MEMBERS!
Posts: 3254
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 11:14 pm
Location: Abbotsford, BC

Post by Jordan Gladman » Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:08 am

PS. DOHC KA stud kit works, you just have to back the studs out 2 turns. :wink:

User avatar
Mark Washington
Encyclopedia-Nissan
Posts: 1004
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 6:45 pm
Location: BAY AREA
Contact:

Post by Mark Washington » Thu Apr 29, 2010 11:19 am

165-5401 ARP

Wow I vote yes!
速い速い シルビア ターボターボ
Its not the size of the turbo,Its how you spool it.

User avatar
KA24ETZTM
Knows Some Stuff About 240's!
Posts: 446
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 3:48 pm
Location: Kannapolis, NC

Post by KA24ETZTM » Thu Apr 29, 2010 12:18 pm

Jordan Gladman wrote:PS. DOHC KA stud kit works, you just have to back the studs out 2 turns. :wink:
That may be true but you can buy the set from the places I listed and not have to back anything out. Just tighten them down snug and you still have plenty of stud sticking out. :D
Youtube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/ka24etztm/videos
My Original Build Thread
: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=35224
Current Build Status: viewtopic.php?f=40&t=61790
Image

User avatar
Jordan Gladman
Belongs To The TOP CONTRIBUTING MEMBERS!
Posts: 3254
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 11:14 pm
Location: Abbotsford, BC

Post by Jordan Gladman » Thu Apr 29, 2010 1:23 pm

True, but I got my cometic and studs for the same price as just the studs on the first link. Its much cheaper to buy a kit.

User avatar
Mark Washington
Encyclopedia-Nissan
Posts: 1004
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 6:45 pm
Location: BAY AREA
Contact:

Post by Mark Washington » Thu Apr 29, 2010 2:59 pm

When you bottom a stud out on any combustion engine the metals will expand
at different rates. This could cause the threads to pull or crack the block ect.

Please dont post how you bottom them out and how fine you have been,
the technacalities I mention are to help not cause drama and start a new subject

wich I kinda just did. :blah: The same goes for mains a turn or two back will be
fine.
速い速い シルビア ターボターボ
Its not the size of the turbo,Its how you spool it.

User avatar
KA24ETZTM
Knows Some Stuff About 240's!
Posts: 446
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 3:48 pm
Location: Kannapolis, NC

Post by KA24ETZTM » Thu Apr 29, 2010 3:45 pm

If you could show me where it says in building engines that you back out studs 2 or 3 turns I would like to see that. Im not saying your wrong just curious. The reason I put that was because people had problems with the studs being to short. How you choose to build your engine is up to you but I have never had problems with the engines Ive built. Lets just stay on topic like you said and get something accomplished that everyone needs. Jordan no offence taken I just wanted everyone to see what there options are. :D Now lets vote to get this stickied :D
Youtube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/ka24etztm/videos
My Original Build Thread
: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=35224
Current Build Status: viewtopic.php?f=40&t=61790
Image

User avatar
KA24ETZTM
Knows Some Stuff About 240's!
Posts: 446
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 3:48 pm
Location: Kannapolis, NC

Post by KA24ETZTM » Thu Apr 29, 2010 3:52 pm

I asked turbo24sxt if he could sticky we'll see what happens.
Youtube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/ka24etztm/videos
My Original Build Thread
: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=35224
Current Build Status: viewtopic.php?f=40&t=61790
Image

User avatar
Jordan Gladman
Belongs To The TOP CONTRIBUTING MEMBERS!
Posts: 3254
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 11:14 pm
Location: Abbotsford, BC

Post by Jordan Gladman » Fri Apr 30, 2010 9:04 am

Bottoming a stud is very different than bottoming a bolt. If you hand bottom a stud, you're fine because when you tighten the nut, the stud will pull up out of the block, you arent driving the stud deeper into the block as it tightens. The lubricated nut has much less friction that the stud so the nut will always turn vs the stud therefore this isnt really an issue.

Either way, you can run a SOHC stud kit or a DOHC stud kit, the SOHC kit will give you a few extra threads to play with and makes installing and torquing the nuts a bit easier as you arent having to maintain stud depth when you bring down the nuts.

User avatar
KA24ETZTM
Knows Some Stuff About 240's!
Posts: 446
Joined: Sun May 11, 2008 3:48 pm
Location: Kannapolis, NC

Post by KA24ETZTM » Fri Apr 30, 2010 12:32 pm

Couldnt have explained it better myself. Thanks Jordan :wink:
Youtube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/ka24etztm/videos
My Original Build Thread
: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=35224
Current Build Status: viewtopic.php?f=40&t=61790
Image

User avatar
Mark Washington
Encyclopedia-Nissan
Posts: 1004
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 6:45 pm
Location: BAY AREA
Contact:

Post by Mark Washington » Fri Apr 30, 2010 1:23 pm

After one install of the 10mm studs they are much longer.
My point was not to crank down on the head studs, hand tight with a slight turn back is good you wont loose any strength.

I use 12mm/12cm studs
AU4.800-1LUB (studs)
300-8307 (NUT)
200-8500 (WASHER)

So far its been ok
速い速い シルビア ターボターボ
Its not the size of the turbo,Its how you spool it.

Jackasknissan
Belongs To The TOP CONTRIBUTING MEMBERS!
Posts: 1517
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Richmond, BC

Post by Jackasknissan » Fri Apr 30, 2010 7:00 pm

studs typially float by design, but by having different thread pitches n each end( by proper definition atleast)
they will have a tendancy to want to tighten a bit.

besides ultamately loosing thread strengh from not having the maximum amount of threads avalable to provide maxuim holding power their is no ill effect. as keep in mind oem head bolts dont bottom out in the hole, so it is likely still a better hold vs oem.
Turbo24sxt wrote:SOHC > DOHC ... period ...
oaznbeasto wrote: Hey 6 posts, Go **** yourself! learn something then post[/quote

User avatar
Jordan Gladman
Belongs To The TOP CONTRIBUTING MEMBERS!
Posts: 3254
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 11:14 pm
Location: Abbotsford, BC

Post by Jordan Gladman » Sat May 01, 2010 2:10 pm

The DOHC studs are the exact same length as the OEM bolts, exact same threads into block. :wink:

h240sx
240sx Wannabe
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2009 10:24 am
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Contact:

Post by h240sx » Fri May 21, 2010 6:58 am

so buying a set of dohc would work just fine for the sohc

User avatar
Mark Washington
Encyclopedia-Nissan
Posts: 1004
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 6:45 pm
Location: BAY AREA
Contact:

Post by Mark Washington » Fri May 21, 2010 10:58 am

Yes fine just make sure you have room for the washer and nut by backing off 3 turns or so.
速い速い シルビア ターボターボ
Its not the size of the turbo,Its how you spool it.

User avatar
tom550
Belongs To The TOP CONTRIBUTING MEMBERS!
Posts: 2100
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2008 10:02 pm
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Contact:

Post by tom550 » Sun Jul 25, 2010 7:14 am

O&J Performance Link not working

new: http://www.mcssl.com/store/oandjperform ... ry/5069344
Image

crazypete59
240sx Wannabe
Posts: 108
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 12:37 pm
Location: Maimi,Fl

Post by crazypete59 » Tue Nov 09, 2010 8:41 pm

I am Wondering is there ARP studs for the stock intake manifold the reason i ask is because i need new bolts

User avatar
Mark Washington
Encyclopedia-Nissan
Posts: 1004
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 6:45 pm
Location: BAY AREA
Contact:

Post by Mark Washington » Wed Nov 10, 2010 4:32 pm

The thread is M8x1.25

So if ARP is what you think you need call them.
速い速い シルビア ターボターボ
Its not the size of the turbo,Its how you spool it.

User avatar
Jordan Gladman
Belongs To The TOP CONTRIBUTING MEMBERS!
Posts: 3254
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 11:14 pm
Location: Abbotsford, BC

Post by Jordan Gladman » Wed Nov 10, 2010 5:02 pm

You dont need ARPs for that, just hit up fastenal for some 60mm X 8mm set screws.
WWW.GLADFAB.COM SOHC Turbo Manifolds

User avatar
O&Jperformance
KA-T.org Sponsor
KA-T.org Sponsor
Posts: 620
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:41 pm
Location: Central Florida
Contact:

Post by O&Jperformance » Fri Oct 14, 2011 4:43 pm

Here is our Main Studs Kit for KA24E

Image
http://www.ojperformance.com/ Tel-407-944-0064
Performance Parts,Turbocharger,Chassis and much more
Instagram O&J Performance
Facebook O&J Performance
Twitter O&J Performance

Two-Tone
Driving Mom's Station Wagon
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 7:29 am

Re: SOHC ARP STUDS

Post by Two-Tone » Thu Apr 16, 2015 6:59 pm

Not one link in this thread works anymore. :/

Liteemup39496
Knows Some Stuff About 240's!
Posts: 465
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 11:35 am
Location: North Jersey

Re: SOHC ARP STUDS

Post by Liteemup39496 » Fri May 08, 2015 5:56 am

people should post part numbers not links
'89 KAe-T Coupe - on the road to a goal of 400whp with A/C
'91 Hatch - VH45 powered, track duty
'05 Titan - I/H/E VK56 - Tow rig and Daily
Single Jingle love

UnknownNugget
Learners Permit
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 7:21 pm
Location: Australia, Melbourne.

Re: SOHC ARP STUDS

Post by UnknownNugget » Tue Feb 05, 2019 5:04 am

I bought my ARP set off ebay part number. 202-4307.
Currently in my ka24et with no issues.

Post Reply