How to set TPS soft closed point correctly?

Basic tech questions such as future setups, different turbo kits, car diagnosis, etc

How to set TPS soft closed point correctly?

Postby schmauster920 » Mon Jul 16, 2012 6:02 pm

I warmed the motor up, unplugged the TPS, started it, revved it over 3000 rpm 4 or 5 times, turned it off, plugged the tps back in and restarted it.. I assumed this sets the TPS soft closed point for the ECU.


It wont go lean when closed throttle and coasting, i can turn the TPS down to about .43 volts and it will switch to 'closed throttle' in consult and it will cut fuel when coasting, but it leans out strangely at low throttle sometimes, not if its in the voltage range it should be. (.45-.550) i believe

Im going to leave the battery cable off for a few hours and see if it resets.
D21, Built KA24DE, 740cc, T4, WeatherGuard Tool Box, Tial 40mm, Megasquirt 3 in progress
User avatar
schmauster920
Belongs To The TOP CONTRIBUTING MEMBERS!
 
Posts: 2612
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: CA

Postby thesandman4444 » Mon Jul 16, 2012 10:48 pm

to reset the tps idle unplug with the ignition on, switch off then back on and plug it back in. Is it an oem tps? The parts store replacements have slop in them and it messes with the low throttle and tps closed point.
built block, sls manifold, 60 trim t3/t04e, rc 750s and nistune
thesandman4444
240sx Wannabe
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 12:45 am
Location: rockledge fl

Postby schmauster920 » Mon Jul 16, 2012 10:50 pm

Thanks for the info, ill give that a shot tomorrow.

Its an OEM tps, ive heard bad things about the aftermarket ones too.

Battery cables off for 45 mins didnt reset it.
D21, Built KA24DE, 740cc, T4, WeatherGuard Tool Box, Tial 40mm, Megasquirt 3 in progress
User avatar
schmauster920
Belongs To The TOP CONTRIBUTING MEMBERS!
 
Posts: 2612
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: CA

Postby adamky » Wed Jul 18, 2012 7:20 am

thesandman4444 wrote:to reset the tps idle unplug with the ignition on, switch off then back on and plug it back in. Is it an oem tps? The parts store replacements have slop in them and it messes with the low throttle and tps closed point.


Listen to this guy. I followed his tip when troubleshooting my own TPS issue and this fixed it.
Wiseco/Eagle, JWT S1 cams, BC valve springs, PT5857, ID1700 injectors, SR20DET ECU w/ Nismotronic, etc, etc...
--> YouTube channel --> my build thread
Image
adamky
SuperMod
 
Posts: 3500
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 6:40 am
Location: Louisville, KY

Postby schmauster920 » Wed Jul 18, 2012 9:45 am

Heres the link adam is referring to.

http://www.ka-t.org/forums/viewtopic.ph ... 1b252c458d

I left it unplugged for a few secs, ill have to try it a little longer this time.
D21, Built KA24DE, 740cc, T4, WeatherGuard Tool Box, Tial 40mm, Megasquirt 3 in progress
User avatar
schmauster920
Belongs To The TOP CONTRIBUTING MEMBERS!
 
Posts: 2612
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: CA

Postby schmauster920 » Sat Jul 28, 2012 10:32 pm

Update:

Couldnt get the TPS idle light to reset maybe my idle was too high.


I finally used techu to reset the fuel trim history and the TPS closed flag is working now.
D21, Built KA24DE, 740cc, T4, WeatherGuard Tool Box, Tial 40mm, Megasquirt 3 in progress
User avatar
schmauster920
Belongs To The TOP CONTRIBUTING MEMBERS!
 
Posts: 2612
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: CA

Postby adamky » Tue Jul 31, 2012 7:56 am

That's weird. How high is your idle?
Wiseco/Eagle, JWT S1 cams, BC valve springs, PT5857, ID1700 injectors, SR20DET ECU w/ Nismotronic, etc, etc...
--> YouTube channel --> my build thread
Image
adamky
SuperMod
 
Posts: 3500
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 6:40 am
Location: Louisville, KY

Postby schmauster920 » Tue Jul 31, 2012 11:15 am

It was around 900, and warmed up. i dont have an IACV, maybe that messes with it. I tried it quite a few times, and different ways while watching in consult.


I was getting detonation at 13degrees and 8psi, after setting the soft point i am now at 14 and 17 degrees, no knocking :D Feels like real KA now. Too bad my turbo is taking a dump now lol

Not to mention im back to 25+mpg rather than 20
D21, Built KA24DE, 740cc, T4, WeatherGuard Tool Box, Tial 40mm, Megasquirt 3 in progress
User avatar
schmauster920
Belongs To The TOP CONTRIBUTING MEMBERS!
 
Posts: 2612
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: CA

Postby Ikera » Tue Oct 23, 2012 6:17 pm

I don't have consult cable, but I have SAFC II if it shows 0% throttle does that mean the ECU is also taking i as a 0% or SAFC has it's own values based on voltage reading?
User avatar
Ikera
240sx Wannabe
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 4:48 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC

Postby schmauster920 » Sun Oct 28, 2012 11:20 am

The safc makes its own % from the throttle voltage it sees, so its pretty useless as far as diagnosing. You should do the timing setting procedure and it should reset the tps closed point.
D21, Built KA24DE, 740cc, T4, WeatherGuard Tool Box, Tial 40mm, Megasquirt 3 in progress
User avatar
schmauster920
Belongs To The TOP CONTRIBUTING MEMBERS!
 
Posts: 2612
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 5:25 pm
Location: CA

Postby Ikera » Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:34 pm

thanks! I realized that just yesterday.

the SAFC will slowly adjust itself to 0% throttle if the RPMs are at 0

I don't think SAFC is completely useless for diagnostics, it does have a volt meter feature. I'm not sure how accurate it is, but it sure is a quick and easy.
Image
User avatar
Ikera
240sx Wannabe
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2011 4:48 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC


Return to KA-T Tech. Basic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests

cron