MegaSquirt/Tuner Studio Tuning Theories/Concepts

Discussion about ECU Tuning Products and Theories
supakat
SuperMod

MegaSquirt/Tuner Studio Tuning Theories/Concepts

Post by supakat »

I have been asked quite a few times about MS tuning. I wanted to start a thread to help out individuals, get the info out there, and get input from others. Once in the open, we can help teach each other. I am by no means an expert but I have had good results with tuning. I have helped get a few MS equipped cars running besides my own and AEM as well. Please bear with me. I am not going to create a guide because DIY has one already, but I would like everyone to ask questions and add content to the thread rather than emails or pm's.

I have attached my tune for instructional purposes.

Useful Links
http://www.megasquirtpnp.com/docs/mspnp ... &isModel=2
http://www.megasquirtpnp.com/docs/mspnp ... ?isModel=1
http://www.diyautotune.com/tech_article ... uning.html
http://www.megasquirtpnp.com/mspnp2_maps.php

To start off some excerpts copied from emails. I will try cleaning up when I get some time.

Boost Controller Setup
If you look at my settings in TS, you will see boost enabled. Basically, duty cycle 0 is no control meaning spring pressure. As numbers increase, so does boost. Some people do it backwards but I do not like it. I want to keep the relation of increase cycle = increasing psi. It makes more sense to me.

Timing Tip